10+ Free Learning Online Events for Educators This Month!

For the next month, I will be participating in many free online events that are really worth checking out. Anyone can view these events live and participate via an online chat, webcam, mic, and more! You will watch live presentations from teachers worldwide on various educational technology projects and in many cases you can receive a certificate of attendance to show to your learning institutions! Below is the description of these events, the links to the webrooms, and the times. Mark them on your calendar and invite a friend :-)

American TESOL Free Friday Webinars

Thanks to the American TESOL Institute, I conduct free 30 minute online webinars on the Adobe Connect platform every Friday at 4pm EDT (New York Time), 3pm Texa, 1pm LA, 5pm Brasilia, 9pm London, 10pm Paris, 11pm Athens/Istanbul, Sat 8am Sydney time, and Sat. 6am Tokyo time.

Click this link to join! http://americantesol.adobeconnect.com/terrell

Upcoming topics include:

  • Fri., Oct. 5th, Promoting Literacy for Teens on Mobile Devices
  • Fri., Oct. 19th, Wicked Activities and Sites for Halloween!
  • Fri., Oct. 26th, Does it Add Up? Teaching Math to Language Learners

Additional details:

Simple K12 Free Webinars

Thanks to the Simple K12 I will be presenting with several other educators on their Day of Learning, Sat., Sept. 29thDay of Learning: iPad, Sat., Oct. 13th; and Day of Learning, Sat., Oct. 20th as well as on other dates.

Upcoming topics and the links to register are below:

VITAL Free Edtech Webinars

Vital is free professional development offered by the Open University and offers free monthly webinars on various educational technology topics each month. For October they will cover video conferencing and e-safety. Find more info here, http://www.vital.ac.uk/events?tid=18 and free resources here, http://www.vital.ac.uk

University of the Philippines Edtech Webinar Series

The online webinars are FREE and will run from September 26 to October 4, 2012. Topics include: TwittEd, Online Libraries, Educational Virtual Trips, Classroom Teaching via Role-Playing Games, Mobile Apps, Tech in Music, Pinterest, Tech in English, GMail Makeover, Open Source Software for Education, Google Apps, Presentation Software Alternatives, Tech in Language Education, Podcasts in Education, Online Dietary Tools, or simply, topics in the realm of Educational Technology. Find the times, room links, and more here http://bit.ly/educ190webinars11213a (EDUC190 WF1) and here http://bit.ly/educ190webinars21213a (EDUC190 WF2).

Find many more free online events in Shamblesguru’s regularly updated Ezine http://www.scoop.it/t/teacher-cpd-online

Challenge:

Attend one of these conferences, invite a colleague new to free online professional development, and write a reflection about the experience on your blog or on your social networks.

If you enjoyed this post, you may want to subscribe for FREE to receive regular updates!

Bookmark and Share

Shelly Terrell

Shelly Sanchez Terrell is a teacher trainer, author, and international speaker. She is the host of American TESOL’s Free Friday Webinars and the Social Media Community Manager for The Consultants-E. She has co-founded and organized the acclaimed educational projects, Edchat, ELTChat, The Reform Symposium E-Conference and the ELTON nominated Virtual Round Table language and technology conference. Her prolific presence in the educator community through social media has been recognized by several notable entities, such as The New York Times, UNESCO Bangkok, Edweek, Converge Magazine, the United Federation of Teachers, the 140 Conference, Mashable, English Central, Tefl.net, and T/H/E JOURNAL. Her education blog, Teacher Reboot Camp, is ranked as one of the top 10 language teaching and technology blogs and the 50 best blogs for education leaders. In 2012 find her book, The 30 Goals Challenge for Educators published by Eye on Education and participate with over 7000 educators worldwide in this online professional development course that helps educators develop Personal Learning Networks and accomplish social media and teaching goals. Find her on Twitter, @ShellTerrell. Shelly has taught English language learners at various levels since 1998 in the US, Greece, and in Germany. She currently presents and hosts workshops on integrating technology effectively with young learners and adults. Shelly holds an Honours BA in English and a minor in Communication with a specialization in Electronic Media from the University of Texas in San Antonio and an Honours MA in Curriculum Instruction ESL from the University of Phoenix.

4 thoughts on “10+ Free Learning Online Events for Educators This Month!

  1. Shelly, this is a great list. Thanks for sharing it. In a bit of shameless self promotion, I’d like to mention a webinar we’re hosting that is sponsored by the great folks at TenMarks…the topic is Common Core Math Standards and we’ll be focusing on assessment.

    Here’s a registration link: http://bit.ly/tenmarkswebinar2

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>